Election Information

November 2015 Election

Council to Retain Offices in 2015 Election

Qualifying for the positions on the Sugar Hill City Council has now ended.  The incumbents seeking re-election will be unopposed in the 2015 election.  The members of Council up for re-election this year were Susie Gajewski for Post 3, Marc Cohen for Post 2, and Brandon Hembree for Post 1.   

Voting Information:

The City of Sugar Hill’s Municipal elections are held every two years in odd numbered years at the Sugar Hill Community Center. The Community Center is located at 1166 Church Street, behind the Town Green in Sugar Hill. Absentee and Advance voting will be held at Sugar Hill City Hall, located at 5039 West Broad Street.

About our Government: 

The City of Sugar Hill government consists of a Mayor and five Council Members. The term of office is four years. The elections are staggered every two years.

The Sugar Hill election type is majority and the candidate needs 50% plus one vote to win. You must declare whose seat you are running for when you qualify as a candidate.

To Qualify for Candidacy:

To be eligible for office you must be 18 years old, a citizen of the United States, a registered voter in Gwinnett County, and a resident of the City of Sugar Hill, residing within the city limits for a period of a minimum of one year.

You must file a Notice of Candidacy and Affidavit at the City Clerk's office. The qualifying fee is $108.00 for Council Member and $162.00 for Mayor. If you are planning to run for office and accept campaign funds, please see the City Clerk as there are forms to fill out before campaign funds are accepted. There are also Campaign Disclosure reports to fill out. These reports are required by the Ethics in Government Act of the State of Georgia. The State Ethics Commission can be reached at 770-920-4385 or the website is

Candidates elected to office in the November election take office in the month of January of the following year. They will be sworn in at the first Council meeting of the year.

Registering to Vote:

You may register to vote at City Hall, Gwinnett County Libraries, Georgia State Driver's License offices and most government facilities. The same form is also used to change your address or name.

Contact Information:

The Election Superintendent, Voter Registrar and Absentee Ballot Clerk is Jane Whittington, Sugar Hill City Clerk. You may contact the clerk by email Jane Whittington, or by calling 770-945-6716.

See Democracy in Action, Become a Poll Worker:

You can become an integral part of assisting the citizens of Sugar Hill as well as providing a service to your community by becoming a poll worker. As a poll worker you would help fulfill the important process by which we Americans select our leaders and have a voice in government.

Poll Worker Qualifications:

You must be a U.S. Citizen, a resident of the county where you will be working, 16 years of age or over, able to read, write and speak the English language, and have no prior felony convictions for at least 10 years. A poll officer is not eligible to run for public office and cannot hold a public office, other than a political party office, while serving as a poll worker. A parent, spouse, child, brother, sister, father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law of a candidate cannot serve as a poll worker in any precinct where that candidate is listed on the ballot.

All poll workers will be compensated for their services.

All poll workers are required to attend training sessions. After successful completion, a certificate stating that you are qualified to work in an upcoming primary or election will be issued.

To become a poll worker, please call (770-945-6716) or email Sugar Hill’s City Clerk, Jane Whittington for more information.

More Information:

Elections are monitored by the Secretary of State’s Office. They have a very informative website at