Meet the 2015-2016 Sugar Hill Youth Council

Taylor Morain Amber Nicholson  Aysha Jerald
Agam Singh Kaan Cubukcu Roshni Patel

 Shelby Borek Bryn Pugh     

2015 Youth Council


(Pictured L to R: Brandon Hembree, Curtis Northrup, Mike Sullivan, Michael Shafack, Roshni Patel,
Steve Edwards, Jada Hyland, Deyson Johnson, Susie
Gajewski, Marc Cohen)


The purpose of the Youth Council @ Sugar Hill (“YCSH”) shall be to provide an opportunity for the youth of Sugar Hill to acquire a greater knowledge of, and appreciation for, the American political system through active participation in local government.  The YCSH shall assist the Mayor and City Council in solving the problems and accomplishing the goals of Sugar Hill by facilitating open dialogue and discussion with representatives of the youth. 

The YCSH shall serve the citizens of Sugar Hill by:

A. Informing the Sugar Hill municipal government of the needs and wishes of the youth.
B. Planning and implementing social, educational, cultural and recreational activities for youth.
C.  Working with the Mayor, City Council, City Department Heads, schools, chambers of commerce, civic clubs and service organizations to provide service and leadership opportunities for the youth of the City.
D. Instilling a feeling of positive self-worth and esteem, teaching respect for the rights and property of others, promoting community pride, and facilitating positive influences on our future community leaders.


The YCSH shall consist of a total of between six and eight (6-8) members. A selection committee of the City Council shall nominate no fewer than six or more than eight members.  Members shall be appointed by a majority vote of the City Council.  The members nominated by the selection committee shall be residents of the City of Sugar Hill and shall be between the ages of 14 and 18 years old as of the date of their appointment, and there can also be up to two non-resident members who must attend a local area school (or home school) and shall be between the ages of 14 and 18 years old as of the date of their appointment.  Any vacancies occurring during the term of office of any member shall be filled by appointment of Youth Council advisor as set forth above without regard to number in each category.

Meetings & Activities

The Sugar Hill Youth Council meets on the 1st, 3rd (and 5th if applicable) Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. All meetings will be held in the Council Chamber at Sugar Hill City Hall, located at 5039 West Broad Street, Sugar Hill, GA.

Youth Council Agenda and Meeting Minutes

Youth Council News

There are no items to display at this time.

Sugar Hill Youth Gazette

Listing files in '2016'

Youth Council Charter

Youth Council of Sugar Hill Charter

Contact Us:

Teacher Sponsors:     Kyle Jones from Lanier,
                                             Kirsten Baker from N.G. High,
City Contacts:               Scott Andrews, City of Sugar Hill,

2015 Youth Council

(Youth Council taking Oath at the October 13, 2014 Council Meeting)